I Had Cancer

Standard

The purpose of social media is to connect people – make the world smaller and help facilitate conversations.  Therefore, I am loving this new site called I Had Cancer.  I Had Cancer is a social support network with the mission of helping people deal more effectively with life before, during and after cancer.  It was created by Mailet Lopez, a cancer survivor, who wanted to help connect people currently in treatment, survivors and supporters in order to help overcome the “feeling of isolation and confusion that accompanies the disease and treatment.”

These days it seems like everyone has a story.  Completely by chance, I became a volunteer for the Cancer Support Community (formerly Gilda’s Club) in North Texas.  Then, in May, my 32-year old sister was diagnosed with breast cancer – the first cancer diagnosis in my family. 

Mailet has created a platform for people to share their story, and connect with others in their area and around the world.  I Had Cancer is still in beta, but I am hoping the site takes off.

Leave a Reply

