So Blessed!

Standard

The most amazing thing happened!


Me and Danielle at last year’s Blingo Bingo benefit

Last night, I went out with some girlfriends and one of them said, “Oh! I want to donate to your walk!” and another said, “How much more do you have to get to your goal?”  I started to feel a bit guilty – I told them that I had met my goal, and they didn’t have to give if they didn’t want.  My friend, Danielle, says “Well, can I donate to someone on your team?”  Abso-freakin’-lutely!  My sister-in-law, Wendy, still needs donations.  Danielle gives me a folded check and I stick it in my purse.


As I’m leaving the restaurant, I remember the check and fish it out of my purse – IT’S FOR FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS!  I couldn’t believe it!  Who donates that much to someone they don’t even know?  Oh, yeah, my amazing friend Danielle does.  SO THANKFUL!

I learned a good lesson – this is not about me, this walk is about finding a cure.  There are several of us (2,500 to be exact) who are willing to walk 60 miles in 3 days.  We are all raising money for the cure.  From now on, when I’m approached with more donations, I’m going to offer to give it to the team.  Wendy and I said, that when she’s at her goal, we’re going to start helping someone else.  

On another note, as I write this Ali is one hour into her first chemo treatment.  Spirits are still high, and it’s a beautiful (albeit HOT) day – I see nothing but great things in our future!

THANK YOU, DANIELLE – You Kick Butt!
Leave a Reply

