She Kicks Butt: D’Lyn Biggs and Team Tiara

Standard

I got home from the training walk this morning to find a package on my front step from our team captain, D’Lyn.  As I put in my first post, Dione, Wendy and I are walking with Team Tiara.  It’s the team’s sixth year to walk in the 3 Day and they have raised close to $500,000.  D’Lyn is the amazing chick who organizes the team and keeps us on track.

D’Lyn sent a care package to me for Ali.  It contained a beautiful, handmade quilt and a silver bracelet inscribed with Isaiah 40:31 – “Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.”  The quilt was part of a fundraiser that Team Tiara organized – quilters from 19 states and five countries donated these beautiful blankets.  The bracelet represents one that D’Lyn’s mom wore during her treatment, and that D’Lyn still wears today.

What an amazing and caring gesture.  I have only met D’Lyn for 10 minutes during the 3-Day in 2010 (I’m not sure if she even knows that).  And, she certainly hasn’t met my sister.  But, D’Lyn has made it her passion to comfort those with breast cancer and has dedicated herself to raising money to find a cure.  D’Lyn started Team Tiara to honor her mom, who lost her battle with cancer in 2007. 
I have never seen someone so driven to find a cure.  D’Lyn is a blessing to many, many, many people – even ones that she has never met.
I immediately drove to Ali’s house to deliver her care package.  In all fairness, I caught her and Shalor by surprise – so, she’ll want me to explain that she wasn’t “camera ready.”  LOL!  I think she’s beautiful!



Ali and her quilt. 



The quilt and Team Tiara calendar

The camera wasn’t able to capture the colors just right. 
The patch on the quilt reads, “Team Tiara’s Simply Pink: Quilts for the Cure 2010.  http://www.teamtiara.net”

Wanna know more about this cool chick?  Check out D’Lyn’s blog, Meanderings of a 3-Day Mom.  To learn more about Team Tiara and their wonderful work to find a cure, visit their website.

Thank you, D’Lyn!

One response »

Leave a Reply

