I’m Walking For My Sister

Standard
In January, at the urging of my friend Dione, I signed up for the 3-Day for the Cure walk in Dallas.  My mom and her friend, Fondra, had walked last year and I saw what fun they had and thought it would be a great challenge.  I didn’t have a real connection with the cause.  I had seen its effects on people around me – I knew it had impacted the lives of my sorority sisters, my Junior League sisters, my community – but I didn’t completely understand.
Until Monday, May 9.   The day after Mother’s Day and 5 days before my nephew’s birthday, my sister, Ali, was diagnosed with breast cancer.  The past few weeks have been filled with blood tests, scans, MRIs, and meetings with various doctors.  We’re lucky – the tumor is small because it was caught early.  Her surgery is scheduled for June 6, after which we will know more about her treatment regimen.
Fondra, me and mom at last year’s 3-Day.

I am so very thankful that I have this group of amazing people to support my sister and my family as we go through this.  My sister is a beautiful, 32-year old wife to Shane and mother to my 9-year old nephew, Shalor.  This has definitely kicked up my 3-Day challenge a notch or two.  🙂

60 miles in 3 days?  I can do that.         
We are in very good spirits.  I think that a huge part of healing comes from a positive attitude and a positive mind.  We are in a good place, and are completely focused on Ali’s health and wellness.  We are focused on living, laughing and loving.  I know that in a year – maybe less – this will be a bump in the road. 
Dione, Wendy and I are walking with Team Tiara.  Over the past 6 years, our team has raised close to $500,000 for Susan G. Komen for the Cure.  The organization has invested more than $1.9 billion in research and impacted every major advancement in breast cancer over the past 25 years. 
Please support me as I take an amazing journey in the fight to end breast cancer! We all walk for a different reason or loved one but for the same goal…because everyone deserves a lifetime.
Leave a Reply

